Did Akash Deep dismiss Joe Root on a no-ball? Commentator highlights umpiring blunder-OxBig News Network

Advertise with OxBig News Network – WhatsApp Now +919501762829 

England batter Joe Root’s dismissal against Akash Deep on Day 4 of the second Test at Edgbaston, Birmingham has sparked a controversy. Deep cleaned up Root with a peach of delivery late in the day as England lost three wickets just before stumps. However, commentator Alison Mitchell revealed that the India seamer may have bowled a no-ball which was overlooked by the umpire.

Mitchell pointed out how Deep’s backfoot must’ve crossed the return crease on the side of the stumps and the delivery should’ve been deemed illegal, giving Root a reprieve. However, the umpires missed it and Root had to return to the pavilion for 6 (16).

“The delivery from Akash Deep — which we said was wide off the crease — his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!,” said Mitchell on BBC TMS.

According to MCC Laws, the bowler’s foot mustn’t touch the return crease for the delivery to be deemed fair.

ENG vs IND 2nd Test Day 5 Updates

“For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride (21.5.1) the bowler’s back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. (21.5.2) the bowler’s front foot must land with some part of the foot, whether grounded or raised– on the same side of the imaginary line joining the two middle stumps as the return crease described in 21.5.1, and, – behind the popping crease,” reads the MCC law book.

It’s usually the duty of the third umpire to check for backfoot no-balls. However, Paul Reiffel didn’t intervene to check the legality of the delivery, sending Root on his way back to the pavilion. The decision has left the cricketing fraternity divided as former England captain Nasser Hussain also spoke about it during commentary on Day 5 saying it was a marginal call.

– Ends

Published By:

Rishabh Beniwal

Published On:

Jul 6, 2025

#Akash #Deep #dismiss #Joe #Root #noball #Commentator #highlights #umpiring #blunder

Akash Deep, Joe Root, ENG vs IND, IND vs ENG, Edgbaston, Birmingham

latest news today, news today, breaking news, latest news today, english news, internet news, top news, oxbig, oxbig news, oxbig news network, oxbig news today, news by oxbig, oxbig media, oxbig network, oxbig news media

HINDI NEWS

News Source

spot_img

Related News

More News

More like this
Related

Where China’s investors are being urged to hide out locally in the second half -OxBig News Network

While the China technology story hasn't changed enough to...

Access Denied-OxBig News Network

Access Denied You don't have permission to access "http://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/akash-deep-cheated-joe-root-ex-india-selector-saba-karim-on-controversial-dismissal-during-2nd-test-8833040"...